Need example to execute stored procedure using script task.

• Hi,

I am migrating SQL server 2000 DTS packages to SSIS packages. I am new to this. I have ActiveX Script Task in my DTS package. Somewhere I read that ActiveX Script task is going to deprecated in future versions, so I have decided to write same using Script Task in SSIS. The code in DTS package is

Function Main()

DIM cn, rs, strQuery

DTSGlobalVariables("gstrCurrentStep").Value = "Extract Server"

DTSGlobalVariables("gstrCurrentTable").Value = "BIW_Server"

Set cn = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")

cn.Open "DSN=BI_Database;UID=" & DTSGlobalVariables("gstrTargetLogin").Value & ";PWD=" & DTSGlobalVariables("gstrTargetPassword").Value

strQuery = "EXEC BI_LogStart '" & DTSGlobalVariables("gstrCurrentStep").Value & "','" & DTSGlobalVariables("gstrCurrentTable").Value & "'"

cn.Execute(strQuery)

cn.close

set rs = nothing

set cn = nothing

Main = DTSTaskExecResult_Success

End Function

Now I want to execute stored procedure using global/package variables in Script Task. Can anybody provide me sample code.

Thanks.

KSB
    -----------------------------
    Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Knowledge and happiness never decreases by being shared.” - Buddha

• If You just need to Run some procedure, then you can go for Execute SQl Task instead of doing it in the Script Task.

If still need Script Task to achieve the same,please let me know

• Hi Sharath,

Thanks for your response. Yes I want to use Script Task. Can you provide me sample code.

KSB
    Thousands of candles can be lit from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Knowledge and happiness never decreases by being shared.” - Buddha

• Here is the code:

Public Sub Main()

Dim user As String

Dim Password As String

user = Dts.Variables("gstrTargetLogin").Value.ToString()

Password = Dts.Variables("gstrTargetPassword").Value.ToString()