MSSQL 2012 versus 2008...2000

• I have been using the following syntax in prior versions and it worked, however when I try it in 2012 i get an error message....

raiserror 22004 'This is a test'

2012 errors out with

Incorrect syntax near '22004'

any ideas other than fixing all my raiserror commands to the new format. (lots of scripts/stored procedures/triggers)

• It's a little hard to understand what is wrong since you haven't formatted things well. Do you mean that if you run this:

raiserror 22004 'This is a test'

You get a syntax error? The syntax shows that parens are required. Also, is 22004 in your sysmessages table?

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms178592%28v=sql.110%29.aspx

• just an old format i have been using since sql 7/2000

the 22004 was just and arbitrary number that i chose.

if you put the line i supplied into sql 2008 or lower you will get the raiserror message. however, if you try that with sql 2012 you will get a syntax error.

in 2008 no problem works fine, without any error. no need to add an message id to the system it worked.

in 2012 it does not work in the syntax provided. error is syntax error

• I have verified this works in SQL 2008 R2 as well. Seems strange that this was allowed as an option within TSQL. The command clearly states the correct format. As a pointer to a reason why the error occurs is that raiserror is marked with a note that : New applications should use THROW instead in BOL for SQL 2012.

• well that answered my question. doesnt look like there is setting/configuration change that would make it behave like the older versions. so i will be changing up scripts in the mean time.

• You can use something like this:

RAISERROR('This is a test', 16, 1)

Third parameter is any number you choose, from 0 to 255.

Second parameter:

>=16 then is error.

<=10 and below - informational message.