Moving Sql2000 DB to Different Location

• Hi all,

We have a Sql2000 DB in production on the D: drive. I am trying to put it on a server in our test lab on the C: drive. I did a full backup of production without errors to create the .BAK file.

My problem now is that in the Entp Manager, the DB is Silver in color and says "Loading". All other DBs are good.

This is my first time dealing with MSSQL so forgive me if this is lengthy. I'm not sure what is relavent and what ain't. Here are the steps I have done to attemp to restore the DB.

1. In the Ent Manager, I attempted to restore. It ran for a few minutes Then I got this error:

2007-02-20 08:14:35.15 spid51 The backup data in 'C:\REMEDY-DB\ARSystem_db_200702022300.BAK' is incorrectly formatted. Backups cannot be appended, but existing backup sets may still be usable.

2. I thought this error was because of the difference in hard drive locations, D vrs C: so I went into the Query Manager and ran this command:

RESTORE DATABASE ARSystem FROM DISK='C:\REMEDY-DB\ARSystem_db_200702022300.BAK'

WITH MOVE 'ARSystem' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\ARSystem.mdf',

MOVE 'ARSystem_log' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\ARSystem_log.LDF', REPLACE

3. It ran for quite awhile, then I got:

ERROR

Server: Msg 3270, Level 16, State 1, Line 1 An internal consistency error occurred. Contact Tech Support

4. I ran DBCC CHECKDB

CHECKDB found 0 allocation errors and 0 consistency errors in database 'master'.

And that's where I'm at. Oh, I checked the size of the files and everything looks good. I did reboot though after running the restore command. Probably, way too soon. From what I've found on Google, I think the transaction log needs to do something after the restore, but I really don't know.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Regards,

Zeek

• Hard to tell exactly why you are having the errors but I can tell you backups and restores are for the most part very dependable in Mssql