Modify Send Mail Task in SSIS package

• Hi,

We had a developer that passed away unexpectedly and now I need to modify all the SSIS packages that he made to change the email that is being sent to his account.  I apologize in advance, I have very little experience with SSIS.  I have Visual Studio on my test server so I loaded in the a package from our PRD server, open it up and see all the flow.  I assumed I could just open the Send Mail Task and replace his email address with mine, but when I save it, it automatically puts his back in.  I even tried going into the properties window and changing the LoLine value from his email to mine but once I click anywhere, it changes it back. Is there a another to do this a differently?  We don't have Visual Studio on our PRD server so that's why I'm loading the package on my test server and then trying to modify it.  Any help would be appreciated. 🙂  Thank you.

Thanks!
    Bea Isabelle

• It sounds like your SSIS package(s) is using Package Configurations. This is a way to set the values of variables and other elements inside the package during run time. It could be pulling the value in from a database or environment variable, etc. If so, you would only have to update the value in the control location and it should update all through the package(s) next time they run.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/integration-services/lesson-5-add-ssis-package-configurations-for-the-package-deployment-model?view=sql-server-2017

"If I had been drinking out of that toilet, I might have been killed." -Ace Ventura

• Hi,

Thank you!  I was able to see he was using a package configuration for his email and was able to make the change successfully.  I appreciate your response.  🙂

Thanks!
    Bea Isabelle

• Hi,