Merge Replication Identity Column Issues

• I am setting up merge replication so that a laptop that isn't always connected to the network can update and receive updates from a server database. I found out I should use merge replication for this so this is my first attempt at setting up replication. I've set up merge replication between a SS2K5 publisher/distributor and a SS2K5 Express pull subscriber. I have gotten it to replicate updates to records that are applied to either database, but when I try to insert a record on either database, I get an error like this one:

This failure can be caused by a constraint violation. Explicit value must be specified for identity column in table 'tablename' either when IDENTITY_INSERT is set to ON or when a replication user is inserting into a NOT FOR REPLICATION identity column.

There is an identity column that is used as the primary key on the table in question. I have tried setting NOT FOR REPLICATION to Yes and No. This error comes up when it is set to yes, a slightly different error comes up when it is set to no.

I haven't found anything useful while searching for this example, does anyone have any ideas?

Thank you

• For merge replication you need to have Not_For_Replication set to ON, this means that the value will not generate a new id when it is merged replicated.

It seems like you are having and issue with your publisher and subscriber generating the same ID values and when these are merged together conflicts will occur.

The way that is recommended to fix this is to have the tables seeding different Id ranges, for example the publisher could use Odd numbers for the Id, and the Subscriber could use Even values this way you can be sure there will be no conflicts.

Another way would be to give the publisher an Identity range of 1-1,000,000 and the subscriber a range of 1,000,000 - 2,000,000.

Which method is chosen depends on how your data is used and how many subscribers you plan to have.