MDB or ADP

• Hi,

I'm new to SQL server, but creating basic application for the past 8 months now with SQL server backend and access 2000 client(.adp) frontend.

Previously, I have used access(.mdb) - no sql connection only to another mdb file, and was able to secure it to stop clients messing around. With the recent transition to .adp I find that I can lock the modules with a password and nothing else. Client can still see and view everyting else.

To all you SQL gurus out there, what is your choice as a client frontend, bearing in mind I have not moved to vb or vb.net yet.

Thanks in advance.

• You can acutally send an ADE (compile module). where the user will only access what you want them to (with menus/forms). They won't be able to access anything else.

• Remi is correct.  Furthermore, you should never distribute an ADP. In short:

ADP = Source Code

ADE = compiled version for distibution

Forget about the VBA password.  It's a  joke that takes 5 seconds to crack.

• Hi all,

I really like working with ADP. However, the existence of this platform is really suspect in later versions of MS access. ADP is cleaner and closer to true visual basic .net code. It is also not subject to as much bloating becuase it is a better front end to sql server. However, I have moved all my adp applications to vb.net, I would recommend you do the same. It's easier than you may think. Good luck

• "the existence of this platform is really suspect in later versions of MS access."

Karim, this is a baseless rumor started by one particular well-known newsgroup poster.  I have not heard or read anything from MS that would indicate ADPs will be phased out.  In fact, in one interview I read about the next version, there was a brief cryptic discussion of ADP use in the next version.  It's clear that ~95% of Access users use MDBs, because 95% of database projects are quite small, and require minimal security.  That's why MS talks primarily about MDBs.