MCDBA - Which Exam?

• Hi all.

I'm one exam away from getting my MCDBA certification and I was wondering which of the OS/network exams to take.

I've got a choice between Windows 2003 Network infrastructure (70-291) and windows Server 2003 Environment (70-290)

I'm not working as a DBA at the moment, I'm a database developer focusing on monitoring, performance and large-scale database projects (archiving, distributed servers) etc. As such, I have very little exposure to either area.

I have books available for both (MS Self Paced Training Kit) but no access to courses.

Anyone got opinions or comments on these exams?

Thanks.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Hello.

To simply obtain your cert, it is a coin toss.  To understand everything you will need based on the environment you are currently in, you should take both (I say this because of your mention of distributed servers).  You need to understand the Operating System on which SQL Server runs, but you will also need to understand the network in which your SQL Servers run (notice the emphasis on multiple servers)

Hope this helps.

Keith Pelchat, MCT, MCSE, MCSA, MCDBA

Kindest Regards,

Keith Pelchat
    MCT, MCSE, MCSA, MCDBA

• Gila Monster:

I am in the same position (I even have both study guides too!) and I'm still trying to decide myself.

I have my MCSD (not .Net) as I started as a developer before delving into the database world.  As Keith correctly points out, the intention of the networking exam for the MCDBA cert. is to ensure MCDBAs understand the underlying OS, which a true DBA should.