Looking for suggestions on improving our "data warehouse" approach

• I've come to find myself inheriting a loose "data warehouse" approach of sorts.  I'm quite new to data warehousing concepts, ETL, etc, but I have a feeling some of the things we're doing are less than optimal, so I'd appreciate any feedback on what we should be doing differently.  We're a low-to-mid size company that has started by building a single Power BI report that only relies on data from a single ERP database, but we're looking to expand our data warehousing over time.

Here is the current setup:

• We have a server with a SQL instance on it dedicated to providing data for a Power BI report.
    • Since we only need the data on the report to be updated on a daily basis, we currently have a process in which a SQL job takes a backup of our ERP DB (about 130 gb data file size), a batch process copies the backup file over to the Power BI server, and a SQL job on that server restores over the copy of the ERP DB using the aforementioned backup.  This all happens during off hours.
    • A couple of hours after this DB restore happens, a Power BI data refresh is scheduled for this report.
    • The Power BI report uses embedded SQL queries against the ERP DB copy from the Power BI server to create its individual dimension and fact "tables" for the report.  It also defines the relationships between them through the Model screen.

My biggest questions:

• Rather than defining the dimension and fact tables within the individual Power BI report through embedded SQL queries, would we be better off defining these queries as SQL views (or stored procedures if possible where needed) on the Power BI server to allow other reports to have access to them, and for easier maintainability?  And maybe pivot toward having a separate staging server where these views would live, then have them convert the results into true dimension tables for the Power BI server down the road?