login with hashed password

• I have a damaged sql 2000 system. I got a hold of the master database and attached it to another 2008 instance to get user names and passwords. I have the hashed passwords. The purpose of getting into the old system is to clean it up and get it shut down.

To do one part of it, I want to take a user and hashed password and login into the system.

Is there any way from t-sql or .net to log into SQL Server 2000 when I have the userid and hashed password? I have the SA hashed password.

Joe

• How damaged is the 2000 system? You can always start SQL Server in Single User Mode (from the command prompt: sqlservr.exe -m) to log in using an admin account and get SA rights. You can then change the SA password and use SQL Server normally.

• I got the database up and running. The problem is we bought out a company, who bought out a company, who used to own this system. Built in admin is gone, no one knows the user name and passwords of any of the sql accounts. The application users use name/pwd that are part of the application and not the sql database. No one knows the SA password. I have shut the system/services down to get cold copies of the files, but can't do backups.

This system is on a sql 2000 RTM. We have VM'd it from the server that was starting to smoke. End users need at least 6 months to find another application and convert the information.

I copied the master database and the main user database to another server to gain access to the information. There are things I can do to move/upgrade it, but it does not gaurantee that it works with the application. (vendor went out of buisness 7 years ago) I have a procedure that will recreate the login and users with their hashed pwd. I am looking for a way to get into the system with SA and it's hashed password. I can then change it, and breath easier.

Joe

• Not the solution I was looking for, but found one that worked.