log shipping and transaction log

• Hi there, i m a newbie here . at the moment work like to set up log shipping between the production server. currently we are running transaction log backup. what's the best practice, to run both in parallel or just the log shipping ? will the log shipping interfere the backup ? and if i m keep both running in the same time (is that a bit redundant, or both transaction log backup and log shipping will affect each other) .

thanks for all your help

Ray

• If you're doing log shipping, you cannot have anything else backing up the logs. If you do, then as soon as that other task backs the log up, log shipping will break. Log backups form a chain, to restore elsewhere (as with log shipping) you need all of them, not half of them,

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Transaction log backups are an important part of log shipping. Digest the info in books online and post back if you're still stuck.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Ya can't make an omelette without breaking just a few eggs" 😉

• thanks guys , i have a read . from the bol (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms190440.aspx), if i am running the log shipping and transaction log in the same time . as the log shipping started from the first full backup and then it will start from the chain of log back up (if there are multiply log back up, it will break the log chain) which might break the log backup . guys , please let me know if i m understanding it correctly 🙂 .

many thanks guys

Ray

• Sounds like you have it, I'm not sure I completely follow what you wrote.