Litespeed vs Redgate SQL Backup

• Hi everybody just wondering if anyone has experience in using both these products and

how each one performs.  What is the difference and has anyone out there really compared the two.

Litespeed is expensive while SQL Backup has a reasonable price tag. I suspect there

is a really good reason for the price difference and  I am hoping someone can tell me why?

I have been using litespeed for a couple of years so I am very familar with how well this product performs.

But It doesn't hurt take a look at the competition.

Thanks 

• Hi

I trialled both these products (and others) recently and have just purchased the Redgate product as backup sizes were becoming an issue on some of our servers. The compression rates between the two products were very similar and it was a price decision to go with Red Gate. I'm guessing the fancier the GUI the more you pay, but our backups are done with TSQL commands and command line scripts so I wasn't too bothered about how easy the GUI is to use. In the end Litespeed was just way too expensive.

I used to still get 70% - 80% compression using Winzip 9.0! The downside being you had to create a full size backup first via sql before compressing it. It was handy when disk space wasn't an issue and you had to copy the backup offsite over slow WAN links.

cheers

• I've used both the products, and in terms of performance and output size, they are almost identical (only 2% size difference). Both have slightly different feature sets, but overall they perform the same task. Both can use multiple processors. Litespeed gives a single output file which is nice.

My experience is that red-gate seem quite helpful and fast in making suggested updates. They also have a number of other useful sql server products, so bundle pricing helps.