Levenshtein UDF performance 'tuning' advise needed

• Hello,

First off let me introduce myself. I'm Mike, 19 years old and living in the Netherlands. I'm currently working as trainee on a C#/SQL application. I'm totally new to SQL so that's why I need some help from you SQL guru's :).

So let me first explain my problem. The goal of the application is to match different files (e.g. Excel, CSV, TXT, database formats, etc.) with eachother. For example, we have a supplier list that contains product descriptions in the first file. The second file (from the administrative system) contains the same description but every description could be a little different compared to the product descriptions in the first file (e.g. extra dots, semicolons, letters, numbers, etc.). Now both of these files are imported to a SQL database table. To improve the matching the user first can remove, insert, change characters from a column (or multiple columns). After these edits the files should have a better match, however it still isn't going to be a 100% match.

This is where the levenshtein algorithm comes into play. With the levenshtein algorithm I'm able to get an approximate match between two strings, e.g. '10000' has 80% similarity to '00000'. This algorithm would be very useful to do the final match between my two imported files. So I made a levenshtein UDF from a dynamic link library. This function has two nvarchar's as parameter. The result from the function is a float that has a range from 0 - 100%. This function is then used in a query that looks like this:

SELECT T1.*, T2.* FROM myTable_1 T1 LEFT JOIN myTable_2 T2

ON (master.dbo.fn_Levenshtein(T1.[column_T1], T2.[column_T2]) >= percentage);