Leanring from Experts

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Leanring from Experts

• As a junior BI consultant I'm still in the learning curve for SQL Server.

A few months back I was preparing a deployment of an ETL project that I wrote. I spent hours scripting the tables, the indexes and a few triggers, using the script as create to functionality of SSMS. When I showed my work to a senior colleague, he told me I could've simply used the generate scripts task of the databasse. You can do everything there, with just a few mouse-clicks. Besides the light bulb moment, it was also a D'oh moment 🙂

Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP

• My best learned lesson about productivity was when I started working with a multi-monitor setup. It saves a lot of time in programming when everything is there for you just a glance away (management studio, visual studio, notepad, browser, email, etc...)

• Totally agree with you on that Damus, although I dont have my dual screens at work any more 🙁

• Sorry to hear that. Try to get one on your own (even a cheap one helps), I cannot imagine myself programming without at least 2 monitors.

/sigh

• Ah not going to happen I'm afraid - I work for a bank so bringing my own gear in is a big no no :-1 it is for now 🙂

• Unfortunately, kids coming out of school today do not want to pay their dues as most of us had to do back in the day. They want to make $80K within a year and think they have all the answers and don't tend to listen to anyone. Believe me, I have seen alot of them come and GO over the recent years. 🙂

"Technology is a weird thing. It brings you great gifts with one hand, and it stabs you in the back with the other. ...:-D"