KILLED/ROLLBACK Process still showing in Activity Monitor

• I had a backup job that had been running for several days, or at least it said it was running. Yesterday I was able to stop that job and run a manual full backup. However, the process is still showing in the Activity Monitor and the scheduled backup from last night is still showing as running.

I've ran KILL ## WITH STATUS ONLY and it returns that the rollback is 100% complete. This server is clustered, but I have NO EXPERIENCE with a clustered environment.

1. Does the fact that this process is still showing cause a concern?

2. Could that be causeing the Backup Job to hang?

3. Would stopping and restarting the SQL Agent fix this?

4. What would be the concerns/effects of restarting the SQL Agent? There are no other jobs running.

Personal Motto: Why push the envelope when you can just open it?

If you follow the direction given HERE[/url] you'll likely increase the number and quality of responses you get to your question.

Jason L. Selburg
  • I haven't dealt with this in a clustered environment, but there are times when SPIDs seem to get stuck. Can you failover to the other side and reboot this one? That might clear it.

I'd try the SQLAgent restart if you can.

• Steve Jones - Editor (3/26/2008)

I haven't dealt with this in a clustered environment, but there are times when SPIDs seem to get stuck. Can you failover to the other side and reboot this one? That might clear it.

Well, this is at a client site, and not having experience with clusters I'm apprehensive to do that.

I'd try the SQLAgent restart if you can.

I know jobs would fail, but there aren't any running. Do you know if this would have ANY affect on the cluster environment or anything other than jobs?

If you follow the direction given HERE[/url] you'll likely increase the number and quality of responses you get to your question.

Jason L. Selburg