Iterating thru XML entries

• I'm new to this XML stuff, so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

Below is part of the daily file provided by the US Government Printing Office. This is a large file and I'm only interested in a few small parts of it. So what I'm trying to do is pull out the relevant parts, and load it into a tables that I can then report on.

I have worked out how to find the relevant sections, but I can figure out how to iterate thru the entries within the section.

Attached is an example of the output I'm hopeing to achieve.

- <GPOTABLE CDEF="s25,r20,r20,r45,r75,r75" COLS="6" OPTS="L2,i1">

- <TTITLE>

<E T="04">I.—44 Premanufacture Notices Received From: 6/15/09 to 7/3/09</E>

</TTITLE>

- <BOXHD>

<CHED H="1">Case No.</CHED>

<CHED H="1">Received Date</CHED>

<CHED H="1">Projected Notice End Date</CHED>

<CHED H="1">Manufacturer/Importer</CHED>

<CHED H="1">Use</CHED>

<CHED H="1">Chemical</CHED>

</BOXHD>

- <ROW>

<ENT I="01" O="xl">P-09-0424</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">06/12/09</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">09/09/09</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">CBI</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">(G) Thermoset adhesive additive</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">(S) Siloxanes and silicones, di-me, bu group- and 3-[2-(3-carboxymethylene-1-oxopropoxy)ethoxy]propyl group-terminated</ENT>

</ROW>

- <ROW>

<ENT I="01" O="xl">P-09-0425</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">06/15/09</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">09/12/09</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">Grafil, Inc.</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">(S) Precursor for carbonization/production of carbon fiber</ENT>

<ENT O="xl">(S) 2-propenoic acid, 2-methyl-, polymer with 2-propenamide and 2-propenenitrile</ENT>

</ROW>

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Tim

• Would the following help you to get closer to your expected result?

SELECT

row.value('1+count(for $a in . return $a/../*[. << $a])','INT')-2 AS row,

col.value('1+count(for $a in . return $a/../*[. << $a])','INT') AS col,

col.value('text()[1]','VARCHAR(10)') AS val

FROM @xml.nodes('GPOTABLE/ROW') AS x1(row)

CROSS APPLY row.nodes('ENT') AS x2(col)