IT Pros: What are the best admin tools?

• I am evaluating Quest Spotlight and Idera DM right now. Am I missing another tool? I am looking for a tool that will show me where my bottlenecks are in SQL 2005 and eventually SQL 2008. Right now aside from activity monitor and dmv's I don't have any insight. What is everyone's opinion?

I am an Oracle DBA who is seeking something VERY similar to Oracle Enterprise Manager but for the sql 2005 world. Thanks

• I generally use performance monitor and traces for that kind of thing. Haven't bothered with a commercial tool.

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• I'm not sure I'd compare Spotlight & Diagnostic Manager directly. Yes, both show you real time measurements of server performance, but DM also keeps historical information so that you can do trending and analysis. You'd need Quest Foglight to do the same thing.

Both are monitoring tools, but not good for manipulation and management. Also, both are just looking at information you can get yourself through perfmon, dmv's and server side trace events, which is what these tools use to gather things and present them to you.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• DBArtisan.

We run Oracle, Sybase and SQL Server in our shop; DBArtisan makes our lives easier in each one of the three environments.

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.