Issue with Users, Roles and Schema

• Hi,

I am relatively new to SQL server 2005. Right now i have a situation where in I created a schema 'xyx' and granted the authorization using my dbo account. Created all the tables in the new schema. Created a role called dbo_developer and added the users (windows authentication) to the role. But unfortunately the users are not able to access the tables, infact they dont see the tables listed when they log on..

The owner of the schema is dbo, the owner of the role is dbo and the default schema for the user is xyz. Am i missing anything

Please advice

• You still need to give the user privileges to the database or schema. If you want to limit the users to just read privileges on a specific schema then you need to give that user SELECT rights to that schema. Otherwise you can add the user to the db_datareader role.

An even better method would be to create a new database role with SELECT rights to the schema then add the users to this role.

David

• Hi David,

Thanks for the reply. I have the the role created and then I selected the securables tab, clicked on the Add button, when the Add objects window popped up I selected the third option All objects belonging to this schema and then selected the schema from the drop down. Under the Effective permissions I granted the SELECT, DELETE, EXECUTE, INSERT, REFERENCES, UPDATE and VIEW DEFINITION and I denied the TAKE OWNERSHIP, ALTER and CONTROL. I clicked on OK and when I went to the Schema and looked for the effective permision for the user added to group, it only states Connect and hence the user doesnt see any objects listed under the database.

Is there any particular order in which this has to be done. Like

1) Create Schema

2) Create Users

2) Create Role

3) Define the Securables for the Role

4) Add the Users to the Role created

Vinu