is dynamic sql really so bad?

• I have been using in my apps dynamically built sql with wrapper functions like this:

function sc_string (s as string) as string

sc_string = left(replace(s, "'", "''"), 8192)

end function

function sc_date(s as string, defval as string) as string

if isdate(s) then

dim m : m = cdate(s)

sc_date = "'" & year(m) & "-" & month(m) & "-" & day (m) & "'"

else

sc_date = defval

endif

end function

My question is if I strictly wrap any input params this way,

is there a way how to insert a code? I mean any less known

escape sequences or anything else??? Is there a way?

Many thanks in advance!

• Well, there is ";" which is an end of statement character "--" which is a comment.

As a dba I do not like application built dynamic sql because it is harder to performance tune, you need to grant direct rights on tables, and it requires a rebuild of the application whenever bugs are fixed or performance issues are fixed.

• I'm not quite clear how you're using this as an input parameter. Perhaps an example?

I would avoid dynamic SQL since it is harder to tune or make adjustments if that's what you're doing.

• I have been using dynamic SQL in many of my stored procedures since the early 90's. I started with Ingres on a VAX, but have used it in Oracle and SQL Server as well.

All my code has been on private or stand-alone networks, so we didn't worry a lot about SQL Injection. If someone in the company had enough time to play around and try to hack our computer systems, then their job position could be eliminated.

With that said, I always wanted a better way to allow flexibility. After reading the link in SQL ServerCentral's E-mail from March 20, 2008 about 'Using CASE expression instead of dynamic SQL', I have been retrofitting much of my code to use the CASE statement. I was unaware that it could be used in so many situations. And most classes I have ever taken veer away from teaching the 'slick' and 'out-of-the-ordinary' topics.