Insert into multiple rows, autonumber headache

• Hi,

Wondering if anyone can help me, I'm self taught and still new, but looking to transfer some rows from one database to another. The problem I'm having is that the application is legacy and doesn't make use of the autonumber (identity) feature in SQL Server 2005. Instead it manually generates the primary key numbers. In this instance I want to use a newer application with the same database to transfer rows from one database to another. I have tried to get the PK's by selecting the max and adding 1, it works for one row, but not multiple rows. The unique fields are 'PTR' and 'JOBNO'. Lines 12 and 13 are the ones that need attention, I assume it is just getting the one value and repeating it rather than refreshing it for each row.

Any help much appreciated:

use am4_coc

declare @weeknumber as int

set @weeknumber = 200923

declare @todaysdate as int

set @todaysdate = (SELECT (DATEDIFF(dd,0,GETDATE()) + 36163))

insert into am4_cod.dbo.jobs(

PTR, JOBNO, DATE, CUS_ID, NURS_ID, [FROM], [TILL], GRADE, DUTY,

WEEKNO, TS_FROM, TS_TILL, BRK, [HOURS], PRATE, IRATE, COMM, PAY,

IPAY, MILEAGE, MILE_RATE_P, MILE_RATE_I, NI_WEEKNO, TAX_IND, HOUR_IND,

VAT_IND, DETAIL, ODATE, OBY, CNOTE)

SELECT

(select max(ptr) +1 from am4_cod.dbo.jobs as PTR),

(select max(jobno) + 1 from am4_cod.dbo.jobs as JOBNO),

DATE, jobs.CUS_ID, 'Co C Transfer' as NURS_ID, [FROM], [TILL], jobs.GRADE, DUTY,

WEEKNO, TS_FROM, TS_TILL, BRK, [HOURS], PRATE, IRATE, COMM, PAY,

IPAY, MILEAGE, MILE_RATE_P, MILE_RATE_I, NI_WEEKNO, TAX_IND, HOUR_IND,

VAT_IND,'LCOC TRANSFER' as DETAIL, @todaysdate as ODATE, 'SYSTEM' as OBY, NURS_ID as CNOTE

from am4_coc.dbo.jobs

join am4_coc.dbo.customer on am4_coc.dbo.customer.cus_id=am4_coc.dbo.jobs.cus_id

where

am4_coc.dbo.customer.flag3 = 'D'

and (bookno <> '0' or bookno <> '')

and weekno = @weeknumber

Matt

• Hi Matt,

please follow the link in my signature on how to post sample data.