Increase locks

• Hi all,

I am new to SQL Server admin. We are running Sql Server 7 service pack 4. We have had a lot of deadlock errors from the front-end application. The response from the application vendors were to increase locks on the SQL server, but I do not know where to increase this value.

Any help would be much appreciated...

Thanks

Deon

• Hi

This will not resolve your problem, to me it sounds like a fundamental application architecture problem and the vendor is talking garbage, id be very supprised to see any difference what so ever. Please post the actual error to ensure that "I" am not talking garbage also 😉

Cheers

Chris

Chris Kempster
    www.chriskempster.com
    Author of "SQL Server Backup, Recovery & Troubleshooting"
    Author of "SQL Server 2k for the Oracle DBA"

• Hi Chris,

The error we are getting is:

DEADLOCK OCCURED WHEN ACCESSING EMPLOYEE RECORD, PLEASE TRY AGAIN LATER

To me it sounds like bad design as well, but at the moment I am forced to follow their recommendations (isn't that always the case!)

Cheers

Deon

• I think you can change it using sp_configure, but I agree with Chris - the vendor isnt trying a bit to help you, either out of laziness or lack of knowledge. Enable trace flag -1204, then after a deadlock happens check the error log to get the information from the deadlock. Post that and we'll try to help you fix the cause of the problem, not the symptom!

Andy

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/awarren/