In which organizational team should a DBA work?

• Hi,

First 5 years of my career I was a Cobol developer.

In my second job I started developing vb6, vb.net, asp.net and SQLServer 7.0 for another 7 years.

In 2007 I made my next move to another employer and I was selected for my developer and SQL skills to work in an application directed division. I worked in a team with focus on sql server management, business intelligence and data interfacing between on prem and an increasing number of cloud applications.

Last year our management started a team reorganisation with focus on our most important (enterprise scope) applications. That seems logical besides the decision to move the dba function to a team of system administrators. My colleague, an excellent DBA, preferred to stay in the team being renamed to "Integrated solutions" to keep working on data exchange. So, I agreed (with some doubts) to move to our infrastructure team where I have to replace a senior system administrator who moved to project management.

So, besides my job as SQL dba, I have to teach my new collegues about SQL management. No time for that so far, since my new colleagues have to learn me the details about vm platform, our backup solutions, our hardware, etc.

By evidence it is important all teams have there human backup to cover during holidays.

Isn't that strange?

My excellent dba colleague should not longer do dba stuff or be my backup, since that's not the responsibility of his team and I should no longer have to work around data interfacing since that is not the task of my new team.

So my question is ...

What is the best organisational unit for dba tasks?

What could be the reason to move the dba function from an application directed team to a team of system administrators?