IN versus Equals

• I have stored procedures to which I pass strings for selection. Sometimes the string is a single element, sometimes several. I currently have code that parses the text, and subsequently executes a SELECT with either an IN clause or an = clause.

That is,

SELECT ... WHERE fld in ('aaa','bbb','ccc')

or

SELECT ... WHERE fld = 'ddd'

My question is, am I wasting my time with this? Is SQL Server smart enough to realize that a clause with a single element, like

... WHERE fld IN ('ddd')

can be translated to

... WHERE fld = 'ddd'

and will do so without me coding the two instance separately? I made up a few test cases and the execution plan looks identical, regardless of whether I use IN or =, but I'm not that good at reading execution plans yet.

• According to BOL, an IN clause is the same as the different elements with OR constraints.

SELECT ...

WHERE column IN ('a','b','c')

equals to

SELECT ...

WHERE column = 'a' OR column = 'b' OR column = 'c'

If you only have one element, they should indeed be identical.

IN (Transact-SQL)

Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP

• SELECT ... WHERE fld in ('aaa','bbb','ccc')

The above query(for understanding can be written as):

SELECT ... WHERE fld = 'aaa' OR fld = 'bbb' OR fld = 'ccc'

Which means that Sql Server first gets the list of values inside the IN parenthesis and then checks if "fld" equals to any of those.

That is internally coded by the SQL Server Developers, so we don't have to explicitly write the query as a string of OR Statements and can use the IN clause instead.

So, when there is only one value, like:

SELECT ... WHERE fld in ('aaa')

Then the compiler resolves it and selects the row where "fld" = 'aaa'.

Edit: Oops!!...sorry bout repeating what you said Koen.....we both were typing it at the same time, but you beat me to it. 😀

Vinu Vijayan