Importing Excel data to a table using SSIS

• Hi all

I am new to BI and I need some help. I have seen similar links to my question but they don't seem to work so please provide a fresh response 🙂

I have this Excel workbook that contains numerous worksheets. I am required to loop through each worksheet and import the contents of each worksheet into a separate table in a database. So to clarify,

Workbook 1, Worksheet 1 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 1

Workbook 1, Worksheet 2 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 2

Workbook 1, Worksheet 3 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 3

Workbook 1, Worksheet 4 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 4

I am to do this using SSIS. As I am new I am still learning the controls, and their configurations, so I need a little help to get me started.

Thanks in advance.

• From memory an excel connector will link to a sheet (unless you wish to programatically loop through them)

If Sheet1 goes to TableA, Sheet2 TableB etc... then I'd be inclined to set up four connectors. It makes documentation of the SSIS neater to as you can see at a glance from where from and where to.

HTH.

---------------------------------------------
    If data can screw you, it will; never assume the data are correct.

• drew.. (5/8/2011)

Hi all

I am new to BI and I need some help. I have seen similar links to my question but they don't seem to work so please provide a fresh response 🙂

I have this Excel workbook that contains numerous worksheets. I am required to loop through each worksheet and import the contents of each worksheet into a separate table in a database. So to clarify,

Workbook 1, Worksheet 1 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 1

Workbook 1, Worksheet 2 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 2

Workbook 1, Worksheet 3 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 3

Workbook 1, Worksheet 4 IMPORTS TO Database 1, Table 4

I am to do this using SSIS. As I am new I am still learning the controls, and their configurations, so I need a little help to get me started.

Thanks in advance.