Importing data from txt file and updating Table

• Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie here.

We receive a text file every month from our supplier which is to be used to update a table we have in SQL server 7 (1.7 million records).

The txt file contains only additional records and modifications and is circa 500K records.

What's the best way to do this??

• Hi djpeake,

quote:

We receive a text file every month from our supplier which is to be used to update a table we have in SQL server 7 (1.7 million records).

The txt file contains only additional records and modifications and is circa 500K records.

What's the best way to do this??

only importing 'new' data?

What about creating a DTS package?

You can use the DTS Import/Export wizard and in one of the last steps save it as a package.

Cheers,

Frank

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs
    My blog: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs/frankkalis/[/url]

• One way is to import the file into a temporary table and then process that temporary table to insert or update records in the master table.

Depending on how complex the data is, you might get away with a simple insert statement:

insert <master_table>

select <col1>, <col2>

from <temporary_table>

where not exists (select * from <master_table> where <temporary_table>.<Primary_Key> = <master_table>.<primary_key> )

ie insert a row where it does not exist already.

Updates would be update row where exists already.

If there is more processing to do on each row, such as field validation or inserts into other tables then things get a bit more complicated but the approach is still valid.

There are several ways of controlling this process. One way is using DTS (personally I have never got to grips with it). Another way is using TSQL (CREATE temp table, BULK INSERT update file into temp table, INSERT new rows, UPDATE existing rows, DROP table).