Importing an excel sheet with scattered data

• Hi All

Not sure if I am posting the question in the right forum or shall I find some excel sheet help!

I have an excel file with master data in the rows and child data below in in different columns.

for e.g (claim#, insuredname is in rows, followed by the child records -----)

Claim#1

InsuredName1

----------------

-----------------

Claim#2

InsuredName2

------------------

------------------

I have to import this into a single table , Do I need to fix the excel first??

There are thousands of claim# (records) ...

without fixing the excel is there a way I can import it into sql-server table using ssis.

Thanks!

SJanki

• For those not interested in opening the Excel file here it is:

Just a couple WAGs, you could try importing the entire sheet into one table and then using T-SQL to send the data in the initial table into properly formed tables that represent your data.

Or, you could process the Excel in a Script Component setup as a Data Source where you process the data line by line and push the rows onto an appropriate output per the data format/type.

There are no special teachers of virtue, because virtue is taught by the whole community.
    --Plato

• Another possibility would be to write some code in Excel which adds the two 'group' columns (claim number and insured) to the table data & then throw away all non-data rows.

I say 'some code' - it will require a fair bit - but once it's in that format you'll find it should import nicely.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Hi SJanki

I do not know if you resolved your issue already, if you haven't the following package handles the problem you described, the data flow picture below drives the explanation.

PROCEDURE

a. Create a brand new package.