Import SharePoint Lists Into SQL Server 2005

• Hello,

We are trying to download SharePoint (Moss 2007) list information into SQL Server 2005 using SSIS. The Web Service Task will not recognize the wsdl so we are stuck with trying a work around. We have created a dll to get around directly tapping the web service, but we can't seem to import the data into a SSIS variable and then into a sql table. Does anyone know how to create a script task to do this? I'm new to VB.Net so detailed information is very much appreciated.

Thanks!

telaan

• See my post SSIS: Calling SharePoint web services from the data flow which outlines how to get information from SharePoint and use it in the data flow.

• I would also like to know of a process to import a list into SQL. The post you referred the reader to previously didn't address this task, but rather made a suggestion for something else. I'm not interested in something else....

Thanks!

Dude

• Actually, if you bothered to look at the code, you would see that it gets SharePoint list data.

• It does not address the task, but rather provides a different solution. Although I did find a solution that worked rather well.... I simply imported the list into Access, and then used the SQL Wizard to import the data from Access directly into SQL.

Fortunately with the list I was working with, it was previously in access (I wasn't the one who turned it into a list), and the conversion was easily done without any data corruption.

It's apparent you can't reply to a post without insulting others and playing badly; you would be better served lurking in a different forum.

Dude

• Nice! the trick is figuring out how to talk to sharepoint. I've filed away your code for future reference. I also liked the reference to the C# VB converter!

Thanks

bill

• If you can use third-party solutions, check the commercial CozyRoc SharePoint integration. These are the relevant components:

* SharePoint Source SSIS Data Flow Component