Import of .dtsx files

• Hi all,

I have about 30 packages to import into a 2016 server, that come from 2008.   However each package takes about 20-25 steps to import, I'm thinking there has to be a more automated path...

..any ideas?

Thanks,

JB

• Do you have them in a project? SQL Server 2012 introduced the project deployment method using the SSIS Catalog; that just a few steps to deploy the whole lot (though does require an initial set up, which is a few steps as well).

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• Afraid I'm very new to Admin of SSIS, so not sure what's required to get them into project form.

• JaybeeSQL wrote:

Afraid I'm very new to Admin of SSIS, so not sure what's required to get them into project form.

Are the packages already in a project in SSDT? If not, create an SSIS project in SSDT and then add the relevant packages to the project. You may well then want to change certain things, like Connection Managers, to project Connection Managers.

There's a lot lof changes between 2008 and 2012+ SSIS, that are not easily described in a forum post. I had a quick google, and found a couple of hits, such as here. The documentation covers a lot of there differences between the two here.

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• Thanks for your help, I had a quick read of the link, and unless my tired old eyes are deceiving me the method won't port parameters - and the packages have plenty of them 🙂

Thanks nonetheless!

• JaybeeSQL wrote:

Thanks for your help, I had a quick read of the link, and unless my tired old eyes are deceiving me the method won't port parameters - and the packages have plenty of them 🙂 Thanks nonetheless!