Import dynamic text file - experience?

• Hi.  I'm new here.  This is a wonderful site, with endless helpful and interesting information.  I'm fairly new with advanced SQL functions.  Mainly my experience is with basic admin tasks.  However, I've got something I'm working on that is giving me a little trouble.  It seems like DTS would be a good way to do what I want.  I looked on this site a little, but didn't see an article that seemed to cover this.  This is an advanced subject for me and I’m hoping that it is routine for someone else.  So, if anyone just enjoys helping other SQL DBA's out, then please give me some feedback.

We have an application that creates a new log file everyday.  (ex. MO20050720.log).  Each file is appended throughout the day.

Our goal:  Import these files into SQL.  Then view the data via XML on a web page.

We would like to be able to view up-to-the-minute data.  This means that log files from earlier days must remain available.  Plus we want to set up a polling event to pull in the data from the current day's file.  We will be going forward and not importing data from past days, but want to keep all data imported as we move forward.

I have started a DTS package, but I'm getting stuck on a few issues.

My questions:

1.  How do I import a text file (.log) if I want to change the name (source) everyday?  And how can I automate this to know which file to import based on the current date?

2.  Is it possible or more efficient to import into a single table?  Or import into a new table every day?

3.  Because we will be importing the same file several times a day, is there a way to keep from duplicating the data being imported?

Thank you,

Jason

• Answers to your questions:

1.  You can use VBScript within a ActiveX Task to change the name of the file you want to import.  Check this article out:

http://www.sqldts.com/default.aspx?200

You can also use the Dynamic Properties tasks too.