I am new to SQL world

• I eager to learn sql , I am currently working on Access . I want to learn SQL i have seen lots of videos and understand how sql query works.

I found this forum is one of great forum to learn. I wish you all the best. I mostly retrieve data for reporting. I want strong command on my SQL query.

I have following few question in mind.

can we use procedure in our query to retrieve data ?

can we use function in our query to retrieve data ?

Can sql query result send via outlook with attachment automatically ?

I need to retrieve data using sql for reporting so that I could use it in power bi and micro strategy,  kindly let me know what should I learn most.

• This topic was modified 4 years, 5 months ago by  Kabina.
    • This topic was modified 4 years, 5 months ago by  Kabina.
  • can we use procedure in our query to retrieve data ?

You can use an SP to return data, yes, but not inside a (SELECT?) query. Executing an SP would be its own statement

Yes

You can't send it via Outlook, but you can use sp_send_dbmail which can use POP3/IMAP to send emails.

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• Kabina wrote:

Yes.  Contrary to popular belief, you CAN call a stored procedure  in a SELECT query using things like OPENROWSET.

Kabina wrote:

Yes.  However, there are 3 different common types of functions and, when it comes to performance, it makes a huge difference on which type you use and how you use it.

Heh... and very much against common knowledge and supposed "Best Practices", you can actually call stored procedures from functions.  That's why they called "FUNctions".  You do have to be careful when you do something that wasn't designed to happen or you'll quickly find out what the "FU" in "FUN" stands for. 😀

Kabina wrote:

Thom covered this.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.