Hybrid Hires

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Hybrid Hires

• This isn't specific to hybrids, but here in Indiana, there's a proposed bill for vehicles which are considered "primarily" an electrical vehicle (which allows for some hybrids) will be taxed by the state to cover for the money which would ordinarily be received via gas taxes.

So you're supposed to want to be green with certain incentives such as money and the process will start taxing you for things you aren't using?

What they forget is these vehicles generally exert less wear & tear on the roads.

• Steve,

I think what you're describing is a business analyst. Someone who understands the business and the data and can bridge the gap.

My business degrees and experience receive the same amount of attention in my resume and interviews as my technology degrees and experience. I'd like to think that having both has kept me working in lean times.

• The org chart says I'm a database developer, but on a normal day I spend more time writing ad-hoc SQL queries and researching data issues than I do writing T-SQL procedures, data modeling, or performance tuning. Often times this involves working in tandem with a business analyst or department head.

"Do not seek to follow in the footsteps of the wise. Instead, seek what they sought." - Matsuo Basho

• Steve,

I agree that professionals that bridge the gap between understanding how to mine and apply data for decision making are critical skills that are missing in the marketplace. What I disagree with is where those skills belong, and who should be developing them.