How to you run/activate a Stored Procedure

• I am new to SQL, Now that I have created a Stored Procedure to create a view and compare the view to existing tables and if different and new records.  How to I launch it automatically?  Do I have to create a function to call the store procedure?

What is the best apprach.

I have create a Stored procedure in Query Analyzer, When I copy it into a new Stored Procedure and apply it, close it, then reopen it the new procedure doesn’t contain the info I just pasted, Why?  Currently this file is saved as a .sql file – what is the best approach to executing this  if not from a stored procedure?

Karen

Here is my code:

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER OFF

GO

SET ANSI_NULLS OFF

GO

ALTER  PROCEDURE SiteManager_Import

AS

IF EXISTS (SELECT TABLE_NAME

FROM   INFORMATION_SCHEMA.VIEWS

WHERE  TABLE_NAME = N'vwProject_Type')

DROP VIEW vwProject_Type

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER OFF

GO

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

IF EXISTS (SELECT TABLE_NAME

FROM   INFORMATION_SCHEMA.VIEWS

WHERE  TABLE_NAME = N'vwProject_Type')

DROP VIEW vwProject_Type

GO

CREATE VIEW vwProject_Type

AS

SELECT Q1.ID ProjTypeID, Q1.DESCR, Q1.PROJ_DESCR_CATEGORY, Q1.PROJ_CLASS, Q1.CPN

FROM SiteManager1..APPPCT.PROJECT_TYPE as Q1

LEFT JOIN ProjectTypes ON Q1.ID = ProjectTypes.ProjectTypeCode

WHERE ((ProjectTypes.ProjectTypeCode) Is Null)

GO

SET NOCOUNT ON

INSERT INTO dbo.ProjectTypes ( ProjectTypeCode, ProjectTypeDescrip, ProjectDescripShort, ProjectClass,

CapitalProjectNum, DateCreated, UserCreated, DateModified, UserModified)

(SELECT     ProjTypeID, DESCR, PROJ_DESCR_CATEGORY, PROJ_CLASS, CPN,

CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AS DateCreated, 'Import' AS UserCreated,

CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AS DateModified, 'Import' AS UserModified

FROM         vwProject_Type)

GO

Drop View vwProject_type

Thanks in advance,

Karen