how to resolve Foreign Key constraint

• I am completely new to SSIS and have been experiencing an impasse. I am trying to successfully execute a package containing

17 tasks, I've resolved numerous errors, however, there is an error based on a FK constraint that I've not been able to resolve. Ive read a few articles on dropping and re-creating constraints but I feel they are complex, for a more advanced application, or are over my head from a familiarity standpoint. My question is, for a simple package and from an visual task aspect, how can I implement a SSIS feature in the specific task that will account for this error type.

Below is a One Drive link to a screenshot of my solution

https://1drv.ms/f/s!Ai9bJ2dV87SLgfwGrYuaLBK3qZgVjw

• The simplest way is normally to update the related (foreign key) tables, making certain that the values exists before attempting the insert / update of the other tables which have foreign key constraints.

😎

• Ok but through SSIS right? Is this via adding an execution task? Where between the source and destination object within the task to you place such a execution task?

• vega805 (7/27/2016)

Ok but through SSIS right? Is this via adding an execution task? Where between the source and destination object within the task to you place such a execution task?

First I have few questions;

1) What is the data source?

2) What is the destination db type (OLTP / DW)?

3) Is SSIS running on an SQL Server Instance?

Preferably one would use staging area/tables which greatly simplify the import process (ELT rather than ETL) by shifting the DB logic into the SQL Server rather than performing such operations within SSIS. SSIS is a great tool for pumping data and for process execution, it is less than mediocre for relational database logic.