How to optimize join performing table scan

• Hi

I have a master-detail join and when I query for master_id, all well, but when I query for detail_id, it performs table scan on master view:

create table dbo.master(id integer primary key, title varchar(1024),... other fields)

go

create view dbo.vw_master as select *, Afunction(fields from master) as UserRights from dbo.master.

go

create table dbo.detail(detail_id integer primary key,master_id integer references dbo.master(id),...other fields)

go

create index ix_detail_master_id on dbo.detail(master_id)

go

create view dbo.vw_detail

as select D.*, M.title, M.UserRights from dbo.detail D join dbo.vw_master M on M.id=D.master_id

go

--this query performs well, returns ~100 records, 11ms

select * from dbo.vw_detail where master_id=constant and (userRights & 1=1)

go

--this query performs badly, returns 1 record

select * from dbo.vw_detail where detail_id=constant

go

The plan for first query shows that it uses detail.ix_detail_master_id index and dbo.master primary key, it takes 11ms.

The plan for second query shows that it uses primary key for detail and table scan for master and it takes 12sec to execute, because it also executes the function for each record. It's one record from detail located with primary key, one record from master and one function call.

If I join tables (expand vw_master in vw_detail), both queries perform well, so it seems that use of function in view confuses the optimizer. This solution is out of question as there are many detail tables and even details of details.

I have a workaround with a table function and "cross apply", which is a lot less flexible than view.

Any ideas?

• Can you post the execution plan please? Saved as a .sqlplan file, zipped and attached to your post. My guess is that it's because the NC index on the detail table isn't covering.