How to modify query to only use base tables

• I'm new to SQL so I'm not really sure what to do.

Also not sure if I'm on the right forum for this, If not I'm sorry.

I'm trying to modify this:

SELECT *

FROM Product

WHERE SuppNo = 'S3399214'

AND ProdPrice >= 300;

• allenjoey24 (12/18/2016)

I'm new to SQL so I'm not really sure what to do.

Also not sure if I'm on the right forum for this, If not I'm sorry.

I'm trying to modify this:

SELECT *

FROM Product

AND ProdPrice >= 300;

Your query looks like it should run OK. What problem are you having? What do you mean by 'base table'?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• LOL that is what I thought! But the textbook I'm reading wants me to query and "modify it somehow so that it uses base tables only". I'm not really sure what a base table is.

An internet definition I came across says

"A base table is a physical structure that contains stored records. This structure can have any physical format as long as it can be presented to the user as a collection of rows and columns."

But I don't think that's helpful.

LOL that is what I thought! But the textbook I'm reading wants me to query and "modify it somehow so that it uses base tables only". I'm not really sure what a base table is.

An internet definition I came across says

"A base table is a physical structure that contains stored records. This structure can have any physical format as long as it can be presented to the user as a collection of rows and columns."

But I don't think that's helpful.

Your table "Product" is the base table and even fits the description you provided.

Is it possible that you need to modify the query to create a view that references base tables?