How to make in memory SQL transformations within a data flow task

• Hi all,

first of all, I am new to Integration Services. I googled everything so far, but I do not find any answers on my question. So I hope anybody of you can help me out :-).

Currently, I am migrating an T-SQL ETL process to SSIS to see the benefits in parallel executions and bulk inserts. The T-SQL codes are written sequential and persist some intermediate tables.

A simplified example would look like:

Source tables -> SQL transform -> persisted intermediate table 1 -> SQL transform -> persisted intermediate table 2 -> SQL transform -> target table.

For the proof-of-concept I do not have the time to rewrite the SQL queries and find equivalents in SSIS. Well, I do not like the idea to persist the intermediate tables in SSIS, too but I want to stream the data to the next transformation. The picture from the following link summarizes exactly what I want:

https://docs.microsoft.com/de-de/sql/integration-services/data-flow/data-flow?view=sql-server-2017

The problem: I don't know how to do it in SSIS. I haven't found any transformation step which allows SQL input and passes it to the next transformation step (OLE DB Command is not the solution as it operates on a per row basis what I have read so far).

A very dirty solution would be to put all in CTEs. I would end up with a monster SQL query what I don't like.

How do I solve my problem? I need an operator to read the target columns, take them as input, apply some SQL and send the result columns to the next operator.

Thanks for your help!

• You can't. If you want to use T-SQL, you need to use the DB engine (and not SSIS). You'll likely have to rewrite your existing code to make best use of SSIS.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Hi,