How to get insert query..?

• I have a table which contains 5 records in it.Now i want to see the insert query used in inserting the records.

I am new to sql & want to know whether there is any way by which sql generates that query automatically for me

.Thanks in advance

• You can get a generated query. Within SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS) right click on the table and select "Script Table As" from the context menu. You'll see a second menu with "INSERT To." Select that and you'll get another context menu for the destination of your script. Output it to the new query window and you'll see the generated INSERT statement.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• I don't want that insert generate script.I want to see which insert query is used in inserting data into the table.

• Yes you can do that. Right click on database, then go to 'tasks' and then 'generate script'

There at one of the screen you can specify, generate insert script. it will create insert statement for all records.I think this feature is applicable since sql 2005 onwards...

Another option is to write a query, that generates the statemnt for you. If you are not able, let me know and i'll write that.

Online Trainer For SQL DBA and Developer @RedBushTechnologies with 18 yrs exp.

• I want to see the insert script used along with the data that is used in the creation of that table.Can you please

write any query or procedure for to solve my query.

• How does it matter how it was written? I think the only probability of getting it is if it still lies in your cache.

manoj_lanser (4/25/2012)

I don't want that insert generate script.I want to see which insert query is used in inserting data into the table.

• http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/15778/Generating-Insert-or-Update-statements-from-table