How to dynamically create a table in SQL from a Excel file using SSDT

• Hi,

I am fairly new to SSDT and am looking for some help with loading excel files that I have been provided for a project. The files will all have the consistent file names and consistent tab names but that is where the consistency ends. The tabs can have from 1 to 150 columns  with different names, columns named the same but in a different location and on and on. The problem is there are different iterations of the files submitted by the businesses and can change at any time.

I am looking for way that I can load each file into it's own SQL table using SSDT then once I get the source data loaded I will be able to normalize the data make updates to the metric names and then produce some reports.

If anyone has encountered this before and a solution for doing this that would be great.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give on this matter.

If needed I can provide examples of the excel files.

BWP

• You mention SSDT – are you hoping to create an SSIS package to do this, or something else?

This is a big task, even for an experienced developer.

SSIS packages are not very dynamic and usually rely on there being a fixed data structure (ie, columns, column names, column order and data types (such as they are in Excel)) in place and unchanged from one import to the next.

I will be interested to hear what others have to say. It is theoretically possible, for example, to create a package which analyses the structure of a given Excel file and then programmatically creates and executes another package at run time to import it. You'd probably have to import everything to text columns and work from there.

By far the better solution to this problem, in my opinion, is to force the data providers to agree to a defined and specific format and to then throw anything back at them which violates this format, to be fixed.