how to connect Cassandra and report the data using SSRS

• Hi Friends,

I have a requirement to generate report through SSRS 2012 from Cassandra DB.But I have no idea how does it work. we are hoping that SPARK SQL and SCALA or PYTHON would work.

But I have no knowledge about SCALA or PYTHON as well as how to connect Cassandra. I could not get much information in the internet source as well.

Can you please suggest some ideas to achieve this? Like what are the other alternative approaches and difficulties using SPARK SQL or SCALA if any?

any suggestions would be appreciated. Even client is ready to go for SQL 2016 if we have a method to do this.

Thanks,
    Charmer

• Here is an interesting link....

https://www.cdata.com/kb/tech/cassandra-ado-ssrs-server.rst

The walk-throught is well written.

This page might help you find the Driver you are looking for:

http://www.simba.com/drivers/cassandra-odbc-jdbc/?gclid=Cj0KEQiAkO7CBRDeqJ_ahuiPrtEBEiQAbYupJbTROpo-XwydUnSIQusf4Exx619ccTQjaSKlnQRmc3waAt7f8P8HAQ

I haven't found anything from Microsoft itself though.....

If you do have too many Problems you could resolve the issue by using an ETL Process and Import the data from Cassandra DB into a database in SQL Server that you can use for reporting.

A sequence you could implement is:

1. Export the data from Cassandra into a CSV file

2. Use OS utilities to copy the file to the SQL Server

3. Import the data into the SQL Server database

4. Use SSRS to create the report against the SQL Server database

It is pretty long-winded I know but if you don't have the connectivity tools available there are very few options left over.

• Hi Kevaburg, Thanks for the link and the suggestions. I really appreciate it.

My only option is to have to pull data directly from cassandra. I can't use any interface layer or staging for reporting. So I have to make it work at any cost. I am keeping my fingers crossed. I don't know how will it be get going on?