How to check for data loss after rollback

• Hello SSC,

I am not a DBA,. I have some DBA knowledge, but my education is all programming. I had a production deadlock that took over 30 hours to rollback. I am concerned about data loss, but I have no idea how to troubleshoot this. I have a bunch of logs from the DBA's, so I know which tables deadlocked, but how do you check for data loss? 30 hours seems like a really long time for a rollback.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Dave

Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the mouth. --Mike Tyson

• That is a very long time for a rollback.

So, you did experience data loss. The transaction that was rolled back, whatever it was doing that took 30 hours to undo (woof), that data is gone.

Now, would that have lead to data loss elsewhere? No. Almost 100%, without a doubt, no.

BUT!!!!

With a rollback going on that long, I'd be a little concerned that something else was up inside my system. First, make darned sure you have good, tested, backups (a tested backup is one that you've restored, only way to be 100% on backups is to do a restore from them). Next, run a consistency check on the database (DBCC CHECKDB). Be sure it's not corrupt in some way. Then, check your maintenance routines. Are statistics getting updated, stuff like that.

But, no, a rollback normally won't lead to any additional data loss beyond what is within the rollback itself.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Thank you so much Grant! That's a relief.

I have enough information to present to the DBA group and I learned something.

Thank you again. Stay safe and be well!

Dave

Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the mouth. --Mike Tyson