How much disk I/O is 'a lot'?

• I have a query (very inefficient) running against a canned database. The vendor will remain anon to protect them - they need it.

This query in Profiler does about 250000 Reads. Seems high to be, but what do I know? But it is really hammering the disks.

So, how concerned should I be about this? I think it is bad, but I have no experience for comparison on how bad.

- Jim

• Cut and paste the query into QA, set 'SET STATISTICS IO on' and execute it to display information regarding the amount of disk activity generated by the Query. If there are lots of physical read, You have to review the execution plan to see whether indexes being used properly.

• I ran the query as you suggested with this result -

Table 'WorkflowStep'. Scan count 1, logical reads 2, physical reads 0, read-ahead reads 0.

Table 'ContainerType'. Scan count 1, logical reads 1, physical reads 0, read-ahead reads 0.

Table 'CurrentStatus'. Scan count 96, logical reads 480, physical reads 0, read-ahead reads 40.

Table 'Container'. Scan count 2, logical reads 113031, physical reads 298, read-ahead reads 71087.

Another test with the same query gave me 7 physical reads. The difference is presumably what is cached (?)

- Jim

• The data of 'Container' was cached into memory after first run and that is why the second test has less physical read.

You still need to examine the execution plan and ensure correct indexes used by the query.

How many physical memoey your machine has and how many of them are allocated to SQL Server?

• The physical memory is 1.5 GB. SQL Server is set to the default (dynamically configure memory usage).

• Do you perform database statistics update and optimization regularly?

• Sorry to say, no. Although lately I have been doing dbcc checktable with the rebuild_repair option because of torn pages. No power failures, but a difficult to locate hardware problem, I guess.