How do you recover disk space from a database that is no longer needed?

• I am a newbie!!! I have a 2008 R2 Standard Ed server with a database that is in Simple Recovery. The database had a large amount of data deleted from it. The current size is 85645M and Space Available is 59271M. After the delete, I was asked to recover the unused disk space to the server for other databases to use.

I was told to shrink the database and rebuild the indexes but that just made the database larger!!!

This is what I did after the records were deleted:

DBCC SHRINKDATABASE (My_DB);

USE [My_DB]

EXEC sp_MSforeachtable @command1="print '?'", @command2="ALTER INDEX ALL ON ? REBUILD WITH (ONLINE=OFF)"

This is what sp_spaceused shows now:

database_name database_size unallocated space

------------------- ------------------ ------------------

My_DB 85645.06 MB 59271.91 MB

reserved data index_size unused

------------- ------------------ ------------------ ------------------

23525664 KB 21828384 KB 1693824 KB 3456 KB

The mdf file now says the initial size is 82247MB and the ldf is 3399MB

I have read a gazillion articles about shrink vs dont shrink but I cant find any simple instructions on how to get unused disk space back from a database. Using the information above, can someone please explain to me what I can do? If you need more info, I will try to give it to you.

• chumphrey 12211 (4/6/2012)

I am a newbie!!! I have a 2008 R2 Standard Ed server with a database that is in Simple Recovery. The database had a large amount of data deleted from it. The current size is 85645M and Space Available is 59271M. After the delete, I was asked to recover the unused disk space to the server for other databases to use.

I was told to shrink the database and rebuild the indexes but that just made the database larger!!!

This is what I did after the records were deleted:

DBCC SHRINKDATABASE (My_DB);

USE [My_DB]