How do I join two temporary tables using MySQL?

• Hi all,

I'm still pretty new to SQL and could use some help getting this query to work. The ultimate goal is to join two temporary tables.

In the first temporary table, I pulled all of the distinct rows from a table called 'Table A' and used a JOIN clause to combine it with a table called 'Table_B' so that I could apply a condition - in this case, I only wanted the most recently submitted records.

This is the query I used to accomplish this:

CREATE TEMPORARY TABLE temp_A as 

SELECT DISTINCT a.ID,
    a.Year,
    a.Variable_1,
    a.Variable_2,
    a.Variable_3,
    a.Variable_4
    FROM db_prod.Table_A a
    INNER JOIN
    (SELECT * FROM db_prod.Table_B
    WHERE isMostRecentSubmission = True) AS b
    ON a.ID = b.ID;

This is what the output table looks like:

ID       Year      Var_1      Var_2      Var_3      Var_4         
    1001 2019 X 100 1 2
    1002 2019 Y 101 3 1
    1001 2020 Z 102 1 4
    1003 2020 Y 103 2 4
    1002 2021 Z 101 4 3

For the second temp table, if unique combos for 'ID', 'Var_1', and 'Var_2' appear in multiple years in the temporary table 'temp_A', I only kept the row with the most recent year and dropped the previous years.

Here is the query:

CREATE TEMPORARY TABLE temp_B as

SELECT ID, Var_1, Var_2
    max(Year) as 'Max_Year'
    FROM temp_B
    GROUP BY ID, Var_1, Var_2;

This is what the output table looks like:

ID      Var_1      Var_2      Max_Year
    1002 Y 101 2019
    1003 Y 103 2020
    1002 Z 101 2021

The ultimate goal is to use the 'temp_A' table to bring in the missing rows: ('Var_3' & 'Var_4') and join them back onto the 'temp_B' table.

So I want the final output table to look like this:

Max_Year     ID      Var_1      Var_2     Var_3     Var_4
    2019 1002 Y 101 3 1
    2020 1003 Y 103 2 4
    2021 1002 Z 101 4 3