How do I change a table from Read Only?

• I'm new to SQL and trying to go thru a tutorial by AppDev. I've created a table using the templates in query analyzer but when I open the table to insert data, its read only. Insert queries also fail. I cannot find any security or property settings that should restrict this. I'm logged into the server as system admin (sa). Where could I be missing something? tks

• If you're connected as sa shouldnt matter what the permissions are. What error do you get when you try the insert?

Andy

• quote:

If you're connected as sa shouldnt matter what the permissions are. What error do you get when you try the insert?

Andy

OK, I got the insert into query to work. But, just opening the table from the object browser gives me a (read only) at the end of the oject name in the window and I cannot just add data to the table. Other tables that are already created in this tutorial database allow me to add rows, so I don't know what is different.

• You are probably tyring to insert into Identity Column or some columns have or some columns do not allow null values.

If you have a timestamp column in the table you can not insert value in it either.

The last and not least that I can think of check your foreign keys. You might be inserting child record where parent does not exists. Check your foreign key see if the check on insert update option is on.

Good Luck

quote:

I'm new to SQL and trying to go thru a tutorial by AppDev. I've created a table using the templates in query analyzer but when I open the table to insert data, its read only. Insert queries also fail. I cannot find any security or property settings that should restrict this. I'm logged into the server as system admin (sa). Where could I be missing something? tks

• Which if any of those problems is true it should be specific about. What is the full text of the message you are getting? This will help us explain maybe what you are seeing.