How can I improve execution time for pulling iSeries DB2 data into SQL Server using SSIS

• I have been tasked with improving the speed of a data pull from iSeries DB2 V5R4 into a stage table on SQL Server 2008 R2. I've been working with SQL Server and SSIS for about 6 months. I have very limited knowledge of iSeries DB2 and we don't have a DB2 DBA in house. I have however worked with relational data bases and data warehousing for several years so I'm using tuning techniques from my past experience to this problem. I'm not making much head way so I'm hoping some of you might have suggestions of other things to try before I throw my hands up and ask for some outside DB2 help.

Currently the data pull is accomplished via an OLE DB Source that uses an OLE DB connection defined to use the "Native OLE DB\IBM DB2 UDB for iSeries IBMDA400 OLE DB Provider". The OLE DB Source uses a SQL Command to pull a subset of columns from the source table. 53 columns are pulled with an estimated row size of 220. The source table contains over 74 million rows and is growing. We have to pull all rows from this table as there is currently no way to determine changes on the source system. Right now the execution time is a little over 10 hours.

I've set up a test SSIS package data flow that pulls 601,179 rows from the iSeries source using an OLE DB source (IBMDA400 provider) and feeds it to a Multicast component. The baseline execution time for this package is 3 minutes 49 seconds. Using this package I've tested the following

1) Added WITH NC to the query. This should have the same "read only" impact as the T-SQL command WITH (NOLOCK). No change to execution time. I left WITH NC in the query for all subsequent tests.

2) Change the provider to IBMDASQL and IBMDARLA. IBMDASQL was 4 seconds faster than the baseline. IBMDARLA was slower than the other 2 providers. I left the OLE DB connection provider as IBMDASQL in subsequent test.