HI all . Glad to see you all . Need guidance :)

• Hi all ,

I am a newbie , actually was learning JAVA , but now i got job in SQL server as fresher . Now i want to know how to start my carrier in Sql server so help me in

what to learn ? from where to learn ?

And i want to know the difference between DBA and database developer . who plays the vital role and important role(highly paid salary) , DBA or database developer ?

Do i have to learn C# for doing effective task? ....sorry for my too many newbie question s , i hope you all will kindly help me .. thanks in advance 🙂

• And i want to know the difference between DBA and database developer . who plays the vital role and important role(highly paid salary) , DBA or database developer ?

Like many thing in SQL Server the answer is "IT DEPENDS". In some companies it is the DBA who is the highest paid, in others the developer, and in some both individual contributions are noted and each earns the same or close to the same salary and each has a vital role. It depends upon the company and the individuals capablilties.

Do i have to learn C# for doing effective task?

Again It depends. If you can program effectively using C#, and that capability is required for the environment you are working in, then by all means learn C#. If programing using T-SQL is sufficient to perform the required tasks, then knowing C# is not an advantage (Salary wise-higher pay).

If when hired and assigned to be a DBA, the first things I would place on my things to learn list would be:

1. How to properly perform database and log backups.

2. How to restore a backup to a given point in time.

3. Which type of backups to be performing (Simple, Bulk,full DB back up with frequent log backup and frequency of log backup).

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.

Ron

Please help us, help you -before posting a question please read[/url]
    Before posting a performance problem please read[/url]