[HELP]How to combine a script?

• Ok, Im very new at this... I will try to explain what I am trying to do and hopefully someone will be able to help me.

I have this code

UPDATE dbo.'TABLE1'

SET 'colum1' = 1, 'colum2' = 0,

WHERE ('column1' = 0) AND ('column2' >= 10);

the condition here is:

it sets column1 to 1 and column2 to 0 if column1 is equal to 0 and column2 is grater or equal to 10.

what I need to do is add to the condition... I want to delete the contents of table2 and table3 if that condition is met. I hope i explained this well. 😎

I dont know hows its done but I'm guessing it's something like this.

UPDATE dbo.'TABLE1'

SET 'colum1' = 1, 'colum2' = 0,

delete table2

delete table3

WHERE ('column1' = 0) AND ('column2' >= 10);

but that gives me an error >.<

• Have a look at the EXISTS () clause in Books Online. You can test if at least 1 row matches the criteria and if so do the UPDATE along with the DELETEs. Otherwise do only the UPDATE.

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs
    My blog: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs/frankkalis/[/url]

• Frank Kalis (5/27/2009)

Have a look at the EXISTS () clause in Books Online. You can test if at least 1 row matches the criteria and if so do the UPDATE along with the DELETEs. Otherwise do only the UPDATE.

none of the columns on table 2 and 3 are the same as the ones in table1

• In case Frank's answer isn't completely clear you can't do it in one statement, you, but you can do it in one script, you need to use the IF construct - something like this.

IF EXISTS (Select * FROM Table1 WHERE col1 = 0 and col2 >= 10)

BEGIN

UPDATE ...

DELETE FROM table2 WHERE ...

DELETE FROM table3 WHERE ...

END

• Tom Brown (5/27/2009)

In case Frank's answer isn't completely clear you can't do it in one statement, you, but you can do it in one script, you need to use the IF construct - something like this.

IF EXISTS (Select * FROM Table1 WHERE col1 = 0 and col2 >= 10)