Help with Unpivot (or similar)

• Hi all

I have a table that holds order details in columns.

eg.

OrderNo, Prod1, Prod2, Prod3..........Qty1, Qty2, Qty3.......... Val1, Val2, Val3

I am trying to transpose the data into rows so that you just get:

OrderNo, Product, Qty, Val

There are 10 product columns in each row, so I know I can do it with 10 union all statements, but since there could be 1,000,000 rows it seems like it would be rather slow to do so. I have tried using UNPIVOT, which works great if I unpivot just the product columns, but I can't work out how to unpivot say the product and the qty columns without it duplicating data. I have to umpivot upto 6 sets of columns, when I tried it for 1 order it generated millions of rows (should have been a couple of hundred)

I've never tried unpivot before, so hopefully there's a simple answer.

SELECT transfer_order, (page_number * 10) + RIGHT(prods,2) -10 AS line_no, product, reqd_qty, unit_cost

FROM

(SELECT transfer_order, to_warehouse, to_warehouse_name, transfer_status, from_warehouse, page_number

, product01, product02, product03, product04, product05, product06, product07, product08, product09, product10

, reqd_qty01, reqd_qty02, reqd_qty03, reqd_qty04, reqd_qty05, reqd_qty06, reqd_qty07, reqd_qty08, reqd_qty09, reqd_qty10

, unit_cost01, unit_cost02, unit_cost03, unit_cost04, unit_cost05, unit_cost06, unit_cost07, unit_cost08, unit_cost09, unit_cost10

FROM OrderDetails) p

UNPIVOT (product FOR prods in (product01, product02, product03, product04, product05, product06, product07, product08, product09, product10)) AS prods

UNPIVOT (reqd_qty FOR reqqty in (reqd_qty01, reqd_qty02, reqd_qty03, reqd_qty04, reqd_qty05, reqd_qty06, reqd_qty07, reqd_qty08, reqd_qty09, reqd_qty10)) AS reqqty

UNPIVOT (unit_cost FOR uc in (unit_cost01, unit_cost02, unit_cost03, unit_cost04, unit_cost05, unit_cost06, unit_cost07, unit_cost08, unit_cost09, unit_cost10)) AS uc

WHERE transfer_order = 'Z000012'

AND product <> ''