Help with sizing for document storage

• Hello-

I need help with providing a client (small non-profit) with a recommendation for a database server. I am a programmer so I do not have expertise in sizing a server, but I will give you as much information as I can.

There will be a single database on the server, serving an application with up to 30 users (let's say for the sake of argument they are concurrent, but I don't think they will be). As far as database usage goes, we will be storing a combination of standard data and documents. I want to start out with a database about 500GB, which I think will give them room for 3 years. But I want to allow room for expansion.

So, I am interested in recommendations for the following:

* SQL Version (I am thinking Standard or Workgroup)

* O/S (Version & 32 vs 64)

* Number of processors (I am thinking quad-core)

* Amount of memory (4 GB?)

* Disk Configuration (RAID 10 or DroboPro was recommended to me for ease of administration)\

* Anything else I am missing

I don't need a "killer" system (they are a non-profit), but something that will serve them well for now and several years into the future. Their budget seems to be around $15,000-$20,000 for a database server and a web server.

Also, I am planning on scheduling nightly database backups with hourly trans log backups. They want to use Carbonite instead of tape backups. Comments? I think this will be too big/costly as the database grows.

And if it's not too far O/T, if any of you has experience with web servers, I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts on server recommendations for that, too.

Thanks very much,

Doug

• I know I'm late here, but a few thoughts.

1. Look over the capabilities here (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc645993%28v=SQL.105%29.aspx, but I'd think that for what you're looking for, Workgroup will work. If you can go R2, I might consider standard for backup compression. If you plan on any DR, mirroring, etc., I'd go Standard