Help avoiding Dynamic SQL if possible?

• I'm currently writing some code for a task at work where I need to return values for individual ID's stating what there value is when being passed some parameters. The problem I have is that parameter list was currently set at 4 and now have asked to increase from 4 to 8 with the possibility of further expansion at a later date.

Previously I had a lookup table with all the 4 values and then used OUTER APPLY for these 4 to give the results I needed. I can expand the 4 to 8 to get the results again but if it jumps to 30 params then I don't want 30 OUTER APPLY's.

I know we can do this dynamically (which I've never written dynamic code this way before so i'll need to learn) but is there any other way this can be achieved or is Dynamic the only way to go.

CREATE TABLE #TestMapping

(

ID INT IDENTITY(1,1),

ValueID INT,

IsEnabled BIT,

CreatedDateTime DATETIME

)

INSERT INTO #TestMapping (ValueID, IsEnabled, CreatedDateTime)

VALUES

(10, 1, GETDATE()),

(20, 1, GETDATE()),

(30, 1, GETDATE()),

(40, 1, GETDATE()),

SELECT TOP 10

table1.ID,

oa1.Result

FROM

dbo.table1

OUTER APPLY (

SELECT TOP 1 Result

FROM dbo.table2

INNER JOIN #TestMapping tm

ON table2.ValueID= tm.ValueID

WHERE

table2.ValueID= 1

) oa1

Sample code above of how I'm currently doing it.

Any help would be appreciated.

• Have a look here[/url].

Dynamic SQL is a good option in this case.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Thanks for the quick reply. I thought it was the case but thought I'll see if anything else could be done.

I'll have a look at that link and revert back if any questions. I'm sure I will.

• Phil,

I've had a quick read, I'm a little confused... The values of 4,8,30,N... will be passed via the #temp table i created.