Healthcare Data Warehouse - Starting new - small scale

• Are there any members here in Healthcare? I work a lot with files that we get monthly from insurance companies and CMS. We get files on a monthly basis. Some files already have a column to indicate the month/date of the report file.

I want to start loading these monthly files into a database here are my questions:

1. Would you build separate DB's for each source (Blue Cross, CMS, Aetna, etc)?
    2. Would you build one DB and then have tables prefixed with each payor and then what the table represents? (such as BCBSM_Claims, BCBSM_Gaps, etc)
    3. For files that come monthly but do not have a column with month/date, I was going to just add one.
    4. Do I need an additional column to act as a primary key/ID?

Right now all the source data is either in comma or tab delimited files.

Thank you in advance.

-Mark
    MSSQL 2019 Standard, Azure Hosted. Techie/Sysadmin by trade; Three years as a "DBA" now.

• Barring any additional information, I would be inclined to go with a third option that you didn't mention.  Have one table with a field that indicates source.  Otherwise you are going to have essentially the same tables for each possible source.  That's a lot of duplication of effort and also makes it more troublesome to query.

If files don't already have a month/date, I would add one.

The primary key depends on what information you are receiving from the sources.  If they all have a key that can be used as a primary key, then go ahead and use that as part of your primary key.  You will have to include the source as the rest of the primary key if you do put them all into the same table.

Drew

J. Drew Allen
    Business Intelligence Analyst
    Philadelphia, PA

• Drew,

I should have added that each source set of data has a different set of columns. They do not have any kind of primary key already.

-Mark
    MSSQL 2019 Standard, Azure Hosted. Techie/Sysadmin by trade; Three years as a "DBA" now.